Women (and men) in careers and also with small children

Guest TooSoon

Guest TooSoon

Hi.  It is time for the latest installment of "how am I ever going to maintain my career while parenting this child." 

We've had some incidences lately.  M is more verbal now, which I want to think is a good thing but I have my moments of doubt.  She has repeatedly told me that she hates me and she hates my job.  I've tried to explain that I always had this job (for those new to the M saga, I am a college professor) even when Daddy was alive and that part of the reason she and her Dad had so much time together sometimes was because my job is harder and more demanding at certain times of the year than others.  I used the example of how we were able to go to Hawaii for 10 days over break because of my schedule but on the other hand at the end of the school year (coming up fast again) I have a lot of work all piled up and up and up and I just have to do it.  I feel like my job is the third member of our family now.  An ominously potential wedge between our already fragile peace....with tween years coming up sooner than I want to accept. 

I'd been very honest on ywbb about my insecurities about being a parent, let alone an only parent.  But what can I do?  It is not really a job; it is a career.  A career I have spent 20 years building and put essentially on hold for 4 years while Scott was sick and then died and I grieved while limping my way through, imperfectly and plagued with guilt.  It is also our security, as my income is pretty much all we have.  I need to invest in my career to get promoted so I can advance on the salary scale so that I can make up for my single income so that I can send my kid to college.  You get the picture.