Becoming the caretaker of all.......

tybec

My mother is dying.  It is happening, slowly.  I have been her POA for years, as she moved to my town 10 and half yrs. ago.  I had my husband then, so it was doable.  After he died, I had a mother with dementia growing, and  an 8 yr. old son and full time job. My MIL was here, too, and my husband was an only child, and so I have her only grandchild.

I am tired of being the caretaker.  I do it for a living, my choice.  But to always do it.  I CAN do it, but I have 3 siblings and only one picks up the slack to help, with the farm business my mother owns. 

I didn't take care of my mother for her resources, but I am in a different situation now, and I do struggle with feeling I deserve more than my siblings, especially two brothers that have done NOTHING. AND I feel guilty for thinking that.

My eldest brother is widowed, also, a year after me. He remarried quickly last year and it didn't work and he is divorced.  He is 16 yrs. older and retired recently, and he still doesn't help much.  And when he does, it is more trouble than it is worth.  He is with me now, trying to help with mother, sitting at her bed to give me a break.  But he hasn't offered to pay for any meal, lets me take care of everything, and allowed food to burn on the stove when I went to go pick my kid from a church activity when I told him to monitor it.  High maintenance.

I am dating NG.  I think he appreciates I am a caregiver, but he noted that he thought about my mother passing and then having some free time, but then realizing my single older brother may end up in my care.  OH MY Gosh!  I can't go there.  But my brother didn't have kids and is alone.  What would happen if he needed assistance?  Who?  Oh, the widowed sister, that is who! 

I am in a pity party mood.  I am sad, exhausted with my mother dying, and it has been 3 months. I am just venting as I am sure there are others with something similar going on.

Tybec,