Leaving on a business trip.... (whining, self-pity)

RyanAmysMom

I've shared a few frustrating things about my NG .....  and we're working through stuff.....

I've resisted becoming too attached as this is my first attempt at a new relationship - and I'm struggling with allowing myself to be vulnerable...

But this morning, he left for a 2 week business trip overseas....  He gave me a hug, and drove away..... 

And I felt the most devastating loss....   the intensity of the feeling caught me totally off guard....

intellectually, I know it's not forever....  but emotionally, I feel broken all over again.....  

Ugh.....  I hate it when my brain reminds me that it's broken.........

On 7/28/2018 at 12:13 PM, RyanAmysMom said:

intellectually, I know it's not forever....  but emotionally, I feel broken all over again.....  

This has been one of my biggest struggles with my new relationship, which is also my first.  Most days I feel like I'm doing so great with this whole widow thing and building a new life for myself, and then BAM!  I think it's gotten less intense now that we've been together 1.5 years but, like you, I hate the reminder.  (((hugs))) 

RAM   Hope you're doing okay, and that you're in touch with him while he's away.   I remember the feeling of being left behind when DH left on business trips.  And then I got used to it, enjoying a bit of freedom and doing my own thing while he was away.  Popcorn and a big glass of wine for dinner, for example ..... 😁    Of course a dating relationship is different, and the post-widowhood vulnerability struggle is real -  it's a different scenario altogether.  Widow angst for me creeps in at the strangest times, sometimes when it's least expected.  Hope the time while he's away passes quickly for you .....

• Like 1