The Go To Gal

messageinabottle

So I branched out the last couple years making friends and really reaching out to socialize.  Yes it has been nice. 

But I am now the go to gal in every crisis for them.  It is getting to be a bit much at times when I am already overwhelmed along with my Mom making me her go to gal in time of crisis too.  I am burned out and tired. 

Plus my job is demanding more ect. 

I was thinking of this the other day.  I am a true helper by nature.  And honestly helping others has made me less invisible to the world but now I need to cut back on volunteering , helping  ect.  And that is making some of my "askers" upset with me. 

I guess I am still learning in this journey.  But I don't want to feel invisible again just not needing the huge energy drains lately.

Not sure if any of this is making sense :)

I read in a previous post about taking care of ourselves and one of the points was learning to say no.  Yes all of what you are saying makes perfect sense.  People see you as a helper so naturally they will navigate to you to step up. When your plate is too full it's time to step back. None of us knows what is truly happening in others lives. It's up to us to take care of us!

Hugs

Saying No is a lesson I need to learn to. My best friend's wife is always rather ill, now she is facing knee surgery and I find myself at their house every night cooking and cleaning and taking care of their girls. Im almost TOO integrated into their family life, but I enjoy being with them and feeling needed, but I can see how it could be a dangerous position too.  I've never said no often enough for anyone to get upset with me. HA! I should do something about that

Guest littlebirdie

I'm good at saying no. If someone asks why, I say "Because I don't want to." The more you practice saying no, the freer you will feel. Eventually you'll feel good about refusing people when you need to.

I believe volunteering and or service is healthy for a balanced life.