Going back to work

Quixote

I'd actually gone back to work before, but had a freaking meltdown last year.  Recurrent nightmares about the girl, that sort of thing.  End result was inability to focus on the flight deck (I'm an overpaid bus driver).  Margin for error in my line of work is pretty narrow, so I voluntarily pulled myself off line and saw a pshrink.  Of course, that made me ineligible to fly period until I got a thumbs up as totally not depressed.  Did my Maria von Trapp imitation in the pshrink's office a month ago and got the paperwork to go back and commit aviation.

Should be excited.  Love flying.  But it's been a year out of saddle, and frankly I feel as rusty as all get.  They've got warm up sim time for me, but it's do or die by Dec 2 or I'll have to find another line of work.  Don't have a lot of fallback skills, I hate to say.  This is what I've done my entire adult life.  Unsuitable for honest labor, we like to joke.

Well, flying out to corporate tomorrow morning.  Miss the hell out of my wife at times like these--  she was always there with a cup of coffee and a burnt toast peanut butter sandwich as I headed out the door at Oh Dark Thirty.  And she would drill me on limitations and profiles--  probably knew my planes better than my first officers did.  But she's not here, and there's nothing for it but to grit teeth and focus on the job at hand.  Here goes nothing.

Hang in there, buddy. You got this - I can tell by reading your posts that you are a man than does what needs to be done.

Hopefully, you will regain your enthusiasm for flying once you get back in the cockpit.

Best of luck to you.

Guest TooSoon