1-Year on and it's still raw...

I'm a newbie here from NZ. Lost my soulmate 20th March 2015 after a short valiant fight against that pernicious disease cancer: diagnosed in October 2014, and she left us 3 days before our 30th wedding anniversary. I'm tearing up as I type this...something which seems to come too easily to me these days.

One year on everything is as fresh and as raw as if my love left on 20th March 2016. We have 2 beautiful daughters (26 & 15) who appear to be managing the emptiness in our lives a lot better than their dad. One year on and I have not moved any of my wife's clothes, except to have all her beautiful dresses. coats and jackets dry-cleaned and sealed in plastic bags which hang in our wardrobe. I have kept her mobile phone connected and call her number daily just to hear her voice. There is an emptiness in me which feels all-consuming - our daughters provide the only comfort in seeing my beloved in them. Even the temporary relief of sleep seems a distant dream, with only short bursts of sleep at night interrupting  the nightly questioning of Why her? Why my soulmate? Why not me?

I had always envisaged us growing old together, and I had often said to her that I hoped I died before her as I would not imagine life without her...now I'm finding out, and it's as painful and as empty as I had dreaded. An only child, I was used to being alone, growing up alone made me tough and confident. And then I met my soulmate and realised the joy and someone sharing her life with me... there was so much I took for granted, including never contemplating death. The temporary relief that she was no longer in any discomfort when she left us was quickly replaced by the finality of it all, and the questioning of whether we did enough, could or should we have done more...