Withdrawing from people....

still_lost

It's been six years for me since losing DH, and it seems like things aren't getting any easier. I've posted before about not being motivated like I was before. I work in the social work field, and I had to step down from a management position a few months after DH passed. I used to enjoy my work, but it seems like it's becoming more of a struggle to do it everyday. I will keep my job since I have a child to support, but I'm having a really hard time. I'm finding myself withdrawing from people a lot more than I ever did. I can't stand to be around married couples, I still haven't adjusted to the "single" life after all this time, and I'm just not up for social things anymore. I spend a lot of time with my son because he needs me, but I don't know how I can go on like this. I feel like the years of college were wasted, as I don't care much for what I'm doing anymore. I envy those who are able to work from home, and do not have to interact much with people. I would love a job like that. Sorry for rambling, I'm just in a difficult place right now.

I'm sorry you are struggling so much. I think being in the social work field probably requires you to give a lot of yourself, including emotional support to others in difficult situations. I can see where that could be hard to do when you're feeling emotionally depleted yourself. Do you think that might be part of it?