Permanency, Successorship, and Rising from the Ashes

Jess

Hi everyone,

I hope you will all indulge me in a rather long post. I think it is fair to say that last Friday morning, there's a sizable segment of you that probably had no idea who I am. I am still pretty new to this widow thing, currently about 7.5 months in. However, as you all have experienced, time becomes elastic during widowhood and at times it feels like it took two years to live the past 7.5 months.

Less than a week after my husband died, I found YWBB through a Google search. I registered for an account immediately and 5 days later, it was approved. I instantly felt I was among friends and fellow travelers. I often attribute anything I do that passes for healthy grieving to that early support, whether I was actively posting or just reading and nodding. It is hard for me to imagine life without that outlet because it has been there for nearly all of my journey.

When YWBB was suddenly shut down, I felt gut punched. I thought about this precious community and knew it was not something I could personally afford to lose. So I did a crazy thing and set up a new one to round us up and give people that felt as I did that were perhaps not connected through shared phone numbers, Facebook accounts, or shared email addresses a place to go immediately. It breaks my heart that we are losing so much of of our history. For me, the legacy threads that stood the test of years were those that brought me the most comfort because I could see the full journey. It is frankly unacceptable that this history is gone, but if there is anything all of us have experience with it is learning to live with and eventually accept the unacceptable. I just hate that we keep having to do this.