Has anyone used a Nanny type service to vet people through?

PhotoJunkie

As it turns out my sister is now saying she will not be able to help me with "babysitting" issues with my daughter.  The hope was that she and her husband would be able to keep my daughter during the three days a week I have to work 12 hour shifts.  After todays counseling session, she made it very clear she would not be willing to do so.  So now I have to look into some kind of back up plan to have someone stay with my daughter on the three days( actually nights) I work.  I know nobody in the area other than my sister.  I have not lived there before and won't have enough time to make contacts etc with other mothers for a while. 

Has anyone here had to use a non family member/non friend to help provide supervision for their kids while at work?  How do you go about finding people like this?  Im a nurse so my shifts are nights, 12 hours 3 days a week.  My sister did say she could cover some but refused to give a specific answer as to how much.  She seems to think this is something we decide on a day to day basis and that isn't doable.  I can't just call in to work if my sister decides she can't help that day. 

any ideas would be fabulous.  Thank you

Lynn

Guest TooSoon

Do you live near a college?  A responsible college student might be a good option.  You could try calling and seeing if there is a student newsletter (we have a daily one for both students and faculty) where you could post a job?  Plus, you could vet this individual through the school.  I babysat all the time in college.  College students will cost much less than some of the other options. 

Also, I once called a church in my neighborhood to see if there were any retired older church members who could watch my infant daughter.  There were a ton, though I found another option in the end. 

Good luck!