laid off

Needytoo

I have been working at a local college on contract basis for the last four years.  I generally love the job but of course there is a few pit falls because as we know  life isn?t perfect.  The Dean (my boss) each semester has been cutting my hours.  So basically I am doing a full time job in 24 hours a week.  My counterpart basically doesn?t do a thing but she doesn?t address it.  He is the full time hire that can get away with anything.    The Dean has admitted to me and other people that the other guy has to go but she does nothing about it.  The only way I see it that I will get a full time position is if my counterpart gets another position in the college, but what I hear from other people other departments don?t want him either.  I knew I would be getting laid off for the summer but I thought I would at least be working in May.  The Dean got her assistant to email me and gives me my layoff notice.  Wow she couldn?t even say it to my face. She has to be the worse manager going. So I am facing the truth I need to find another job.  Unfortunately there isn?t much in my field so this will mean relocation.  I am terrified.  Finally was putting my life back together and then slapped like this.  When does it end? 

Thanks for reading my vent. 

Guest TooSoon

In all of my many years in an academic setting I will never understand management's choices on these matters.  I've watched and winced as the University has taken total advantage of our gallery director according to their whims for over a decade, never rewarding her with the permanent position she has more than earned.  It makes me sick. 

Not sure what your field is or where you are located but if you want to pm me, I might have some contacts.  I'm in PA but know people at universities all over the place.

I'll be thinking of you and hoping for the best!