Virtual book club? "David and Goliath" by Malcolm Gladwell

Guest TooSoon

Guest TooSoon

So I just got off the phone with SoVerySad and we both ordered Malcolm Gladwell's "David and Goliath," a book about successful people who lost a parent young (could be free on Google books but I haven't checked).  I am not a huge Malcolm Gladwell fan but feel I should read this book because I am the mother of a child who lost a parent young, and we thought we might be able to have a virtual book discussion here (something new, you know, spice it up a bit ) :)).  If so, as a resident teacher, I will, after interest is expressed (or not expressed) establish a due date (though I will not assign grades - I promise) for discussion.  Anyone interested in joining us?

Guest TooSoon

Great!  This is shaping up nicely.  CG, I confused two of his books last night so edited my messages to fix it (I blame Malbec). 

Question is: when shall we plan to be done and discuss?  Or should we discuss it chapter by chapter?  (no clue what I am doing here - never been in a book club let alone a virtual one).  Thoughts?

I'd love to join this discussion!  One of my great pleasures in life is reading books and talking about them.  I'm in a book group, so an online version would be interesting.  Not familiar with this book, and never have read Malcolm Gladwell, but there is a copy of "The Tipping Point" on my shelves; my late husband read and loved it.  Will get a copy of this and join the conversation.

I'm in!  My kids were 14 and 16 when DH died, should be an interesting topic and we will have a unique and personal  perspective on it. 

I've enjoyed various book groups over the years, an on-line one should be interesting! 

Suggest that you pick a date and then post discussion questions on the book - ?  Gee, it would be great to chat live but sure would be hard to gather all of us together at the same time!    ;D

Count me in!!

Just ordered it off Amazon.