Changes-- New Career

mmg19

I posted several weeks ago that I would be stepping into a new career in August.  Teaching middle school science as a first time teacher at age 45.  As grateful as I am to have this job, I am feeling overwhelmed, anxious, and scared to death.  I am using my 4 days vacation time from current job to observe, volunteer, and be mentored by an excellent teacher in summer school. 

The subject matter is no problem since my background is in science.  BUT  all the other preparation, rules and regulations, accountability, learning styles, etc. are really opening my eyes to the world of education.  The classes I took the past year to get certification were not hands on.  My mentor is so patient and understanding and is going to spend more time with me than he bargained for.  I'm working current job until August 1 and will have 1 week before school starts.  DH was my encourager and I sure do need him now.  My new mantra "I Can Do This.  I Will Succeed".

You'll do just fine.  It's a good sign that you're worried about these things; you'll prepare adequately as a result.  It's the teachers who "phone it in" who are terrible educators, even if they have decades of experience.

Can't say that it won't be hard, crazy, or flabbergasting at times.  But it'll also be invigorating and exciting to be helping those whose lives are just beginning to blossom.  You'll have a fantastic time, trust me.  And in a couple of years, it'll be old hat.

Jealous...:)

Guest mawidow

You are doing it and succeeding right now! I am so inspired by your commitment.

I am embarking on a career change myself and am back in the "kindergarten" stage of life at 45. It is quite an adjustment. Sending big support.