A

Guest Damiansinc

ALD,

You are courageous to admit your weakness.  I don't know if saying it here will help you to figure out how to be more present to your son.  I'm not a parent and I don't know if I could have been a good mother.  I worried about re-creating the critical parents that I had.

I'm sending hugs...I don't know what good they might do, but I want to acknowledge that you were heard and I'm sorry that your wife had to end up with early-onset dementia and not be available to parent the child she wanted.  And if your son is the child you describe, somehow, you are figuring out how to be his father.

Maureen

Guest TooSoon

First of all, I think it is very brave to step up and own these things.  For that reason alone, you are a good parent. 

I would say that, at best, I have what I would describe as a "detente" with parenting.  I am not good at it.  As my daughter has gotten older, I've learned to enjoy it more but at 6?  No way.  The parts of it that I love, I love very much; the rest, not so much. 

Try to leave behind whatever standard you might be holding yourself to.  My daughter and I have a pretty unconventional relationship but what choice did we have in the matter, really?  We've been at this for more than half her life now - and I am still insecure and scared - but I think as each day comes and I watch her grow and mature, I realize I might have done a couple of things right.